KENT COUNTY COUNCIL

GOVERNOR APPOINTMENTS PANEL

MINUTES of a meeting of the Governor Appointments Panel held in the Wantsum Room, Sessions House, County Hall, Maidstone on Friday, 1 July 2011.

PRESENT: Mr D L Brazier (Chairman), Miss S J Carey, Mrs V J Dagger, Mr D S Daley Mr R Tolputt

OFFICERS: Mrs L Lissimore (Acting Governor Services Manager), Mr N Morgan (School Governance Officer) Mr A Tait (Democratic Services Officer)

UNRESTRICTED ITEMS

8. Minutes

(Item A3)

RESOLVED that the Minutes of the meeting held on 27 April 2011 are correctly recorded and that they be signed by the Chairman.

9. LEA Governors for Primary, Secondary and Special Schools in Kent (Item B1)

- (1) The Panel decided not to re-appoint Mr M Lunn to the Governing Body of St Phillip Howard Catholic Primary School because to do so would mean overturning Guideline (d) which was particularly pertinent during a period of economic downturn.
- (2) In re-appointing Mrs R Potts to the Governing Body of St Martin's School, Dover the Panel specified that the new term of office should commence on 1 September 2011.
- (3) In appointing Mr S Wright to the Governing Body of East Farleigh Primary School, the Panel specified that the term of office should commence on 1 September 2011.
- (4) The Panel appointed Mr P Jack to the Governing Body of Sundridge and Brasted CE Primary School to replace the retiring Governor on 1 August 2011.
- (5) The Panel appointed Dr E Jackson to the Governing Body of St Lawrence CE Primary School to replace the retiring Governor on 1 August 2011.
- (6) The Panel re-appointed Mrs G Wells to the Governing Body of Salmeston Primary School on the basis of the strong recommendation from the Chairman of Governors.
- (7) The Panel agreed to appoint Mrs A Curtis to the Governing Body of Laleham Gap Special School because of the strong support her appointment would receive from the Governing Body as a whole.

- (8) The Panel noted the circumstances which had led to Ms D Hill not applying for re-appointment to the Governing Body of St Matthew's High Brooms Primary School. It agreed to backdate her appointment to December 2010.
- (9) The Panel agreed to consider a late request from the West Kent Area Education Officer to appoint Mrs M Moyle to the Governing Body of Downsview Primary School on the grounds that the situation at the School required an urgent appointment. The appointment of Mrs Moyle was duly made.
- (10) The Panel noted the action taken by the Interim Director of Education, Learning and Skills in consultation with the Chairman to remove Mr G Sergeant from the Governing Body of Teynham Parochial CE School.
- (11) The Panel was not informed of the circumstances which had led to Mr Sergeant's removal. It noted that any appeal against the decision would be sent by Mr Sergeant to the Chairman's nominated representative, Mr R Tolputt.
- (12) RESOLVED that the appointments of Authority Governors in Primary, Secondary, Special Schools, Pupil Referral Units and the Pool of Additional Governors be agreed as set out in the Appendix to these Minutes.

10. Education Bill: Clause 37 (Item)

- (1) The Acting Manager Governor Services informed the Panel of letter from the Minister of State for Schools concerning Clause 37 of the Education Bill. This letter set out that the proposed legislation would aim to decrease stakeholder representation by requiring that the local authority appointed governor should have the skills required by the governing body. The governing body would also have the reserve right to reject unsuitable proposed Authority Governors.
- (2) RESOLVED that the report be noted.

APPENDIX (Paragraph 9 of the Minutes refers)

1. ASHFORD

School

Beaver Green Community Primary School Downs View Infant School Furley Park Primary School

Pluckley CEP School

Tenterden St Michael's CEP School

The North School

Victoria Road Primary School Willesborough Infant School

2. CANTERBURY

School

Pilgrims Way Primary School
The Federation of Chislet CEP and Hoath Primary Schools

The Federation of Chislet CEP and Hoath Primary Schools

3. DARTFORD

4. DOVER

School

Guston CEP School Hornbeam Primary School Hornbeam Primary School Sandwich Infant School St Martin's School

Vale View Community School

5. GRAVESHAM

School

Cecil Road Primary School Cobham Primary School Higham Primary School

6. MAIDSTONE

School

Coxheath Primary School
East Farleigh Primary School
East Farleigh Primary School
Kingswood Primary School

The Astor of Hever Community School

7. SEVENOAKS

Appointee

Mr M Wilcox Mr P Sims

Deacon Miss S Hibberd

Mrs E Bloom Mr F Chapman Mr C Johnson Mrs L Cronin Mr K O'Connell

Appointee

Mrs J Seymour-Ure Mr F Guthrie

Mrs G Glover

Appointee

Mrs V Clough Mr T Birkett Mrs M Burnham Mrs C Whittaker Mrs R Potts

Mrs V Clough

AppointeeMr D Hurley
Mrs J Wilder

Mrs L Holder

Appointee

Miss A Hansford Mr J Wilson Mr S Wright Mr J Hoadley Mr P Coveney

School

Downsview Primary School
Dunton Green Primary School
Halstead Community Primary School
St Lawrence CEP School
Sundridge and Brasted CEP (VC) School

Appointee Mrs M Moyl

Mrs M Moyle Mr S Beard Mr S Grice Dr E Jackson Mr P Jack

8. SHEPWAY

School

Seabrook CEP School Stelling Minnis CEP School The Churchill School

Appointee

Miss S Jinks Mr J Carr-Hurdwe Miss S Carey

9. SWALE

School

Sittingbourne Community College

Appointee

Mr K Holmes

10. THANET

School

Garlinge Primary School Garlinge Primary School Laleham Gap School Salmestone Primary School

Appointee

Mr W Herbert Mr R Burgess Mrs A Curtis Mrs G Wells

11. TONBRIDGE AND MALLING

School

St Peter's CEP School St Peter's CEP School The Discovery School

Appointee

Mrs L Sharpe Mrs C Cunningham Ms A Gouldthorpe

12. TUNBRIDGE WELLS

School

Lamberhurst St Mary's (VC) Primary School Southborough CEP School St Matthew's High Brooms CEP (VC) School

Appointee

Mrs J Austen Mr J Scudder Ms D Hill

13. PUPIL REFERRAL UNITS

14. POOL OF ADDITIONAL GOVERNORS